About Us

SWEMS was organized in 1979 with the assistance of the Redwood County Regional Development  Commission to provide assistance to the Region’s EMS services in the areas of establishment, initial operation, expansion and improvement of basic and advanced emergency medical services system in the Southwest Minnesota Region. 

The Southwest MN EMS Region includes the 18 counties of Southwest Minnesota consisting of Big Stone, Chippewa, Cottonwood, Jackson, Kandiyohi, Lac qui Parle, Lincoln, Lyon, McLeod, Meeker, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Redwood Renville, Rock, Swift, and Yellow Medicine.  The Region covers 12,011 square miles and has a population of 282,261 residents.


Mission Statement:

“To identify, evaluate, develop and support EMS enhancements to help maximize the SWEMS Region’s response capabilities”.


© 2012 Southwest Minnesota EMS Corporation - Site Developed by Kevin Haney